Forum

Coaching at the ol' Alma Mater...

7 years 7 months ago #74093 by LimeyDawg
Coaching at the ol' Alma Mater... was created by LimeyDawg
Made a side trip today to speak with a friend who is a NC fan to see how he felt about the upcoming season opener. He made a comment that made me think: "I like the way things worked out, Mark Richt going to Miami and Kirby Smart going to Georgia." Then he gave up a gem of a thought: "Do you think they will coach better at their Alma Mater?"

I suppose the general feeling is that a coach gives his all regardless of where he's at, but this question was loaded with innuendo. Will Mark Richt be a better coach at Miami? Will Kirby Smart give his all because he's at Georgia.

Got me thinking along these lines. If I'm a coach, I have no better destination than Georgia, because that's where I went to school. And, because I went to school at Georgia, there's a part of me that's driven more deeply to succeed. I hate to say it, but I think a coach feels a greater sense of responsibility to his alma mater than any other. It's about loyalty and a need to bring out the best in a program that he followed or played for as a student. It's like being a teacher, but one day having one of your own kids in your class.

There is so much here, so I'm throwing this to the board. Thoughts?

"The freedom of individuals to verbally to oppose or to challenge police actions without thereby risking arrest is one of the principal characteristics by which we distinguish a free nation from a police state."
The following user(s) said Thank You: Buc, SouthernDawg, growl

Please Log in to join the conversation.

• LimeyDawg
  • Topic Author
  • Junk Yard Dawg
More
7 years 7 months ago #74095 by SouthernDawg
Replied by SouthernDawg on topic Coaching at the ol' Alma Mater...